observations on gear, adventure, and the world

Lone Peak Assault Part I: Gear

The Girl and I have set out to summit this peak from the Alpine, UT side twice and both times had to pull the plug. The route-finding and packing mistakes we made have been very valuable on other trips over the last five years but the peak has really captured my imagination.

The mistakes were:

(1) Packing too much.

(2) Not knowing where we were going.

So after five years of learning here is what I’m bringing (I’ll sort of divide this into systems):

Checklist time!

(1) Footware, Pack and Poles:
Socks:
two pairs of Smartwool medium weight hiking socks.
Shoes:Merrell Trail Glove
Asolo Approach ShoesI’m testing the Trail Gloves on this route in October conditions. We had snow above 7000′ this weekend and rain forcasted for the afternoon. 
Pack: Osprey Flap Jack Pack 25l.
Poles: Leki Khumbu
Other: I’m riding my bike to the trailhead from my house so you’ll see a cable lock, helmet and specialized mtb shoes in the frame as well. 

(2)Food and Shelter:

Water: 4l of Water in an MSR Dromedary, one  16oz-wide-mouth Nalgene (for mixing Carborocket).
Food: 9 Scoopes of Carborocket 333 (999 cal), one EFS flask (400 cal)
Top: old thin merino wool long sleeve top, Patagonia nanopuff pullover Pearl Izumi rain/wind breaker, Pearl Izumi barrier balakava.
Bottom:  Marker fleece tights, Champion boxer briefs (that should answer several questions you wanted to know but were afraid to ask), Patagonia Rock Guide Shorts (would I wear the Rock Guide Pants if I had them? Yes. Would I wear the Alpine Guide Pants if I had them? Yes.)

(3)Safety/Routefinding/etc:

Map in a plastic cover (The map is a good one, and I’m planning to ride to the Orson Smith Trailhead

Packed and ready to ROCK!

then hike or ride up Corner Canyon Road to the Ghost Falls Trail Head and head up the ridge on Jacob’s Ladder ‘Down’)
Compass my simple trusty Silva
Camera Fully charged phone (an iPhone 4 – great camera, I’m going to do a bit on using an iPhone as a backcountry camera soon)
First Aid: Very basic (read don’t get hurt)
Cheap Sunglasses: Cheap like free.
Knife: SOG Fielder
Watch: Suunto t6, because, yes, I want to know how hard it was.
Moleskine and Pencil : Just has to be done.

I’ll check in as the adventure tomorrow progresses!

Quick update: can’t sleep at 1:00 AM.

Leave a Reply

