observations on gear, adventure, and the world

Sunburn

I hate sunscreen. I also burn really well.

I hate getting sunscreen in my eyes. I hate applying it.

I’ve got a winter solution that gets five stars.

It’s like chapstick for your face, just rub it on and forget about it.

Quick note – don’t put sunscreen above you’re eyes when you’re heading out on the bike because it will run into your eyes and cause ou lots of pain. I don’t care how water proof that paste is it will get in your eyes. If you have a good pair of glasses and a well fitting helmet you shouldn’t be getting sun above your eyes in the firstplace. Since it’s winter I haven’t needed to test this on the bike with this product. At this point nose and cheekbones are the only exposed flesh but I’d almost trust this stuff above the brow if I were heading out bareheaded.

Under the nose because the sun shines up.

2 responses

  1. You must burn pretty easily if you have to put sunscreen under your nose.

    May 3, 2012 at 7:41 pm

    • I do burn pretty easy, but on snow most people shouldn’t forget the underside of nose, ears, and jaw because the snow reflects the UV radiation and you can get pretty cooked pretty fast! I’d say the same thing for times when you’re standing in the water and it’s sunny. Fly fishing in Utah revolves around hatches that usually accompany some sort of cloud cover, but I’m sure if you’re in hip waders in the Sea of Cortez for a few hours you’re going to need some sunblock EVERYWHERE!

      May 6, 2012 at 7:26 pm

Leave a Reply

