observations on gear, adventure, and the world

Three Cups of Pee

Just stumbled upon Three Cups of Deceit by Jon Krakauer.

I’d heard about the allegations against Greg Mortinson of Three Cups of Tea fame, and hadn’t though much of it except that I’d wait until things were settled to read the book, which is sitting on my bookshelf.

I saw the volume sitting there on the shelf last night looking like any other book. And I thought I should make a reading list of false-autobiographies, since I studied the memoir device a bit in college.

I downloaded Three Cups of Deceit this morning and I’m going to plow through it (this will be the first book I’ve read on my iPhone) and then maybe read the book.

I’ll just point out that the line from Krakauer “Mortenson has lied about the nobel deeds he has done, the risks he has taken, the people he has met, the number of schools he has built.” Could be fairly applied to Rousseau, credited with one of the first great memoirs, but since the only thing revolutionary about Mortenson’s memoir is how much money he got (he didn’t even really write the book) I’m not that inclined to give him a hall pass on this one.

Appearantly I should also read A million little pieces

2 responses

  1. Bradwich

    Post your reviews on Goodreads–that way I’ll see it for sure. I haven’t read Mortenson’s book or Krakauer’s refutation, but I’m curious to see what you think.

    February 13, 2012 at 4:36 pm

    • Will do! Have to admit I like reading Krakauer, so that biases me in his favor… as do, it seems, the facts.

      February 13, 2012 at 6:19 pm

Leave a Reply

