observations on gear, adventure, and the world

Sleeping Bag Solution

I have a sturdy Marmot Synthetic bag that weighs 1600 Grams. I sleep VERY VERY VERY warm. I’ve slept in this bag with a baselayer and the bag zipped twice. ever. Once in the Loan Peak Wilderness Area in October in a poorly pitched tent and once in Moab in January. Otherwise the bag is simply far too warm. I end up naked and sweaty all night long. For none of the right reasons. Really I’m just trying to sleep.

And 1600 grams is way too much to carry when you’re over heated anyway. I’ve been looking for a 50 degree bag, while REI has some stuff and there are really expensive options from Western Mountaineering (some of the nicest folks in the business by the way).

Then I came across a review from Gear:30 of a down quilt… that he made!

His review includes links to more specific instructions for construction:

http://thegpsgeek.com/blog/archives/6

Leave a Reply

